Menu

Watt & Tarbell Undertakers 

Ghost Investigations in Tombstone, Arizona

                           OUR HISTORY 

Our building was first opened as Tarbell Undertakers in 1879, two years after prospector Ed Schieffelin founded Tombstone. The building goes from Doc Holliday’s Saloon to 511 E. Allen Street.  The Saloon and store, Nora's Place, are located in the former chapel and family parlor.  Towards the back, there was a small residential area, which was used for the morticians’ work. 

 As the town grew, the business took on another undertaker by the name of George R. Watt and became known as Watt and Tarbell Undertakers. It operated under that name until late 1887 when the undertakers eventually went their separate ways.  Mr. Watt moved to Prescott, AZ and Mr. Tarbell stayed in Tombstone. At that point, the business reverted back to Tarbell Undertakers. 

 The double doors at the front of the building were for the carriage hearse known as the Black Moriah. Mr. Tarbell bought two of them, for which he paid $8,000.00 apiece. He would bring them inside the building to keep from fading in the sun, as well as to keep the gold and silver on them safe. Each hearse was embellished with 6 oz. of gold and 1 oz. of silver. It is said that between 1881 and 1906 this hearse carried virtually all of the people who died in and around Tombstone to the Boothill cemetery. After the famous October 26, 1881, street fight near the O.K. Corral, the late Tom and Frank McLaury made their last ride to Boothill in the back of the Black Moriah, which is currently on display at Tombstone’s Bird Cage Theatre.

 Next to the double doors is a small door to the left that is called a viewing door. It was used to put the unknown bodies on display in the window. They would pack a coffin with ice and put a piece of glass over it, where the bodies would sit up for up to 10 days in hopes someone would come and identify them. You can see how low the doorknob is to give you an idea of how tall the average Tombstone citizen might have been.

 Inside there is an undertakers' table that is dated April 12, 1881, that belonged to Mr. Tarbell. It is also known as a cold table; one they would have used in the deceased home to display the body for viewing by visitors coming to show their respects. We have found that the table has many spirit attachments. Two of the ones we have confirmed is a 17-year-old female named Izza, and the other is a gentleman by the name of Tim Blackwell.

 In the back, there is a small room that houses the mortician’s sink. It is a square area that contains a raised lip and a drain. The sink is the original sink, with stains that look like dirt but is actually blood that is still there to this day.

 Whether you’re a ghost hunter or a history buff, sign up for a paranormal investigation to see and learn about the artifacts that have been found in and around Tombstone!

 
 

Nora Weed Paranormal Investigator

Our investigator, Nora Weed, has been sensitive to spirits/paranormal activities since a young child.  After High School she went to College to be a Engineer. After two decades of working as an Engineer, she decided to follow her true passion as an Investigator.  Nora came into the building for a private investigation in November 2013.  After all the evidence she received she decided to rent the building and show others her talent and help them to experience what she loves doing.  

Nora is also a Reiki Master teacher and a Tarot Card Reader.